de / en / it

A wine-growing regionsteeped in tradition

The Seppi Vineyards are characterized by the distribution of our vineyards in different locations in Kaltern – each having its own, unique growing conditions. This is also a special advantage we enjoy, since it allows us to make use of the different soils and microclimates and to cultivate different varieties of grape.

Here in Kaltern, small geographic units are called “Riegel.” The names and designations of the various Riegel are often centuries old, and tell a story of the cooperation between Man and Nature.

The Panigl Riegel

On a slope near the center of the village of Kaltern lies the Panigl Riegel. The soil here is made up of argillaceous and sandy glacial deposits rich in humus – optimal characteristics for the cultivation of grapes.

The name “Panigl” pops up in village history for the first time in the mid-13th century. It alludes to the use of this land for growing millet (Latin: “panicum”) or perhaps to a field of yellow foxtail (Latin: “Setaria glauca”).

This is where we grow our Gewürztraminer and White Burgundy grapes.

The Prey Riegel

The Prey Riegel is located at the foot of the Mendel Mountains, where our winery is also situated. The soil here consists of clayey limestone gravel. This location is characterized by the air currents descending from the Mendel Mountains.

The name “Prey” is probably derived from the Lombard word “brayda.” In the mid-13th century, this term was used to refer to a small parcel of leased land.

This location is the ideal place for growing our Sauvignon grapes so that they can achieve the optimal degree of ripeness.

The See Riegel

As the name indicates, the See Riegel (“See” = German for “lake”) is located amid the delightful landscape at the famed Lake Kaltern. Our Vernatsch grapes thrive here on the pergolas typical for this location. The soil consists of sandy, clay-rich humus on limestone gravel. A light southerly wind is typical for this location.

The name of this Riegel refers to its widely-acclaimed lake, which belongs to the community of Kaltern. There are various theories for the origin of the name “Kaltern.” It seems likely that it comes from the Alpine Romanic word “caldariu”, which means “thermal bath.”

The Feld Riegel

The Feld Riegel is situated near the Mitter Mountain, and is slightly sloped. The soil here is rich in humus, clayey, and sandy – optimal characteristics for our Cabernet Franc.

Historically, the name “Feld” refers to a plot of land that had previously been fallow but then later taken under cultivation.

Wines

Bottles

Vineyards

de / en / it

traditionsreicheWeinregion

Charakteristisch für das Weingut Seppi und gleichzeitig ein besonderer Vorteil ist die Verteilung der Weingüter auf unterschiedliche Lagen in Kaltern. Dies ermöglicht es, die Vorzüge der unterschiedlichen Böden und des Mikroklimas optimal zu nutzen und verschiedene Sorten anzubauen.

Kleine geografische Einheiten werden in Kaltern „Riegel“ genannt. Die Namen und Bezeichnungen der einzelnen Riegel sind oft hunderte Jahre alt und erzählen viel über die Auseinandersetzung der Menschen mit der Natur.

Riegel Panigl

In der Nähe des Dorfzentrums von Kaltern an einem Hang liegt der Riegel Panigl. Der humose, lehmige Sand- und Moränenboden eignet sich hervorragend für den Weinanbau.

Der Name „Panigl“ taucht in der Dorfgeschichte erstmals Mitte des 13. Jahrhunderts auf. Er deutet auf die Verwendung dieser Gegend als Hirseacker (lat. „panicum“) hin, beziehungsweise auf ein Feld, das mit Gelber Borstenhirse (lat. „Setaria glauca“) bebaut war.

Hier wachsen unsere Gewürztraminer- und Weißburgunder-Trauben.

Riegel Prey

Am Fuße des Mendelgebirges, wo sich auch unser Hof befindet, findet man den Riegel Prey. Der Boden setzt sich hier aus lehmigem Kalkschotter zusammen. Typisch für diesen Standort sind die Fallwinde vom Mendelgebirge.

Der Name „Prey“ stammt wahrscheinlich vom langobardischen Wort „brayda“ ab. Damit wurde Mitte des 13. Jahrhunderts ein kleines, verpachtetes Landgut bezeichnet.

Diese Lage stellt für unseren Sauvignon den idealen Platz dar, um optimal zur Reife zu gelangen.

Riegel See

Der Riegel See befindet sich, wie der Name schon sagt, in reizvoller Landschaft am berühmten Kalterer See. Hier gedeihen unsere Vernatsch-Trauben auf den für die Gegend typischen Pergeln. Der Boden besteht aus humosem, sandigem Lehm auf Kalkschotter. Typisch für diese Lage ist der leichte Südwind.

Der Riegelname weist auf den für seine Schönheit bekannten, in der Nähe befindlichen See hin, der zur Gemeinde Kaltern gehört. Über die Etymologie des Namens Kaltern gibt es unterschiedliche Vermutungen. Naheliegend ist ein Zusammenhang mit dem alpenromanischen Wort „caldariu“, das so viel wie „Warmbad“ bedeutet.

Riegel Feld

Der Riegel Feld liegt in der Nähe des Mitterberges und weist eine leichte Hangneigung auf. Auf dem humosen, lehmigen Sandboden wächst unser Cabernet Franc.

Historisch betrachtet weist der Riegelname „Feld“ auf die Urbarmachung eines vormals nicht landwirtschaftlich genutzten Gebietes hin.

Weine

Flaschen

Lagen